Hot News‎ > ‎

SDA Endorses Candidates for March 1 Democratic Primary

posted Jan 30, 2016, 3:18 PM by Rich Bailey   [ updated Jan 30, 2016, 3:51 PM ]
On Thursday, January 28th the membership of the Stonewall Democrats of Austin heard from more than 35 candidates for the March 1 Democratic Primary elections. In order to be eligible to be considered for the club endorsement candidates were required to respond to a questionnaire addressing a number of LGBT issues (see 2016 Elections for those responses). Endorsements were made based on who the membership felt would best represent the interests of the LGBT community. In order to receive an endorsement a candidate needed to obtain at least 60% of the votes of those present and voting. In several races no candidate was able to achieve the 60% threshold and in some of those races motions were made to issue dual endorsements as both candidates were deemed to be equally strong advocates for the LGBT community.

After 3 1/2 hours of candidate speeches and questions from the membership, the Stonewall Democrats of Austin made the following endorsements:

U.S. Representative, CD10            Scot Gallaher
U.S. Representative, CD17            Bill Matta
U.S. Representative, CD35            Lloyd Doggett
Railroad Commissioner                  Lon Burnam
State Board of Education 5            Rebecca Bell-Metereau
State Board of Education 10          Judy Jennings
State Representative, HD49          Huey Rey Fischer
State Representative, HD50          Celia Israel
167th District Court                        David Wahlberg
345th District Court                        Jan Soifer
427th District Court                        Jim Coronado & Tamara Needles (dual endorsement)
450th District Court                        Brad Urrutia
District Attorney                              Gary Cobb
Sheriff                                             Sally Hernandez & John Sisson (dual endorsement)
County Tax Assessor-Collector      Bruce Elfant
Commissioner, Precinct 1              James Nortey
Constable, Precinct 1                    Rick Schumacher
Constable, Precinct 3                    Anthony "AJ" Johnson & Stacy Suits (dual endorsement)
Constable, Precinct 4                    Manuel Jimenez & George Morales (dual endorsement)
Constable, Precinct 5                    Carlos Lopez

Early voting runs from February 16 to February 26. Below are lists for early, mobile, and Election Day voting locations. 

Rich Bailey,
Jan 30, 2016, 3:18 PM
Rich Bailey,
Jan 30, 2016, 3:18 PM
Rich Bailey,
Jan 30, 2016, 3:18 PM